Websites10 min read

Website requirements checklist for a private or international school in London before asking for quotes (2026)

Mohamed Bah·Fondateur, Kolonell
October 31, 2026
Share:
Website requirements checklist for a private or international school in London before asking for quotes (2026)

Website requirements checklist for a private or international school in London before asking for quotes (2026)

Websites

The verdict in three sentences

A London private or international school that requests quotes without a requirements document gets proposals from about £6,000 to £40,000, each built on different assumptions. The document that fixes this fits on three pages: audiences, templates, rules on pupil data, an accessibility target and, above all, the admissions portal, fee payment, MIS and parent app each listed on its own line. Kolonell answers it with a fixed grid of £2,300, £3,900 or £6,900, those existing tools being linked rather than rebuilt.

This guide is for heads, bursars and admissions teams in Kensington, Hampstead, Wimbledon, Richmond and Canary Wharf serving British and international families.

What goes into the requirements document?

SectionWhat you writeExample for a London school
Goals and audiencesOne goal per audienceFamilies choosing a school, relocating families, teaching candidates
Pages and templatesA closed listHome, admissions, curriculum, school life, open days, fees, news, vacancies, contact
Content ownershipWriter, approver, final sign-offAdmissions drafts, the Head approves, safeguarding policies supplied by the school
LanguagesLanguages at launchEnglish, then French if the audience justifies it
IntegrationsOne line per toolLink to the admissions portal, fee payment, MIS, parent app, calendar feed
AccessibilityA stated targetWCAG 2.2 AA, consistent with the Equality Act 2010
DataPermitted fieldsEnquiry form limited to parent name, contact details, child's age and intended year of entry
Acceptance and timingCriteria and dateGo-live away from open days and the admissions peak

Three points specific to schools. Curriculum statements (British, IB, American), DfE registration and ISI or Ofsted inspection references appear only as they actually exist and link to the published reports. The fees page states clearly whether figures include VAT, which has applied to independent school fees since January 2025; the provider writes no amounts, the school supplies its own figures. Pupil photos are published only with documented parental consent.

On data, the document requires compliance with UK GDPR and the Data Protection Act 2018, overseen by the ICO, plus PECR for cookies and marketing email. No open form collects health, SEN, school report, passport or custody information: those documents go through a secure admissions portal, priced on quote. This is not legal advice.

Finally, require the domain and hosting in the school's name and, if a site exists, a URL inventory with a 301 redirect map for admissions, curriculum and open day pages.

Vague or precise brief: what happens to the quotes?

PointVague briefPrecise brief
ScopeA new modern website9 named templates, 40 pages migrated
AdmissionsHandle applications onlineLink to the existing portal, deep integration on quote
Fee payment and MISNot specifiedExisting tools kept, simply linked
Pupil dataNot specifiedFields listed, documents only via secure portal
AccessibilityAccessibleWCAG 2.2 AA, keyboard and contrast tests at acceptance
Quotes received (London agencies, 2026 ballpark)£6,000 to £40,000£12,000 to £22,000
Ratio between highest and lowest quoteAbout 6.7 timesAbout 1.8 times

How do you score three quotes?

CriterionWeightQuote XQuote YQuote Z
Handling of pupil data25%354
Coverage of the requirements25%435
Verified accessibility15%344
Timeline compatible with admissions10%435
Three-year total cost25%423
Weighted score out of 5100%3.603.404.10

Check for quote Z: 4 x 0.25 + 5 x 0.25 + 4 x 0.15 + 5 x 0.10 + 3 x 0.25 = 1.00 + 1.25 + 0.60 + 0.50 + 0.75 = 4.10.

How does the Kolonell grid map to the checklist?

  • Starter, £2,300: a small or newly founded school, core pages, a minimal enquiry form, links to existing tools.
  • Growth, £3,900: most established schools, with admissions, curriculum, school life, open days, news and vacancies, plus migration of existing pages.
  • Premium, £6,900: the multilingual tier, languages set in the quote, an extended structure and advanced animation.
  • On quote in every case: admissions portal, fee payment, MIS integration, parent app, calendar feeds beyond a simple link.

Need a professional website?

Kolonell builds websites that attract clients, optimized for the Sénégalese market. Free quote in 2 minutes.

Prefer a call back?

Leave your WhatsApp number and a Kolonell expert will get back to you within 1 business day. Free, no strings attached.

You are :

Every tier includes a project manager reachable in UK time, native English or French copywriting, delivery in 3 to 4 weeks once content is ready and 3 months of support. Details are on the international offer page.

Mini case study

Illustrative example: Claire, Director of Admissions at Hartwell House School, a fictional independent school in Richmond. She spends 8 hours on the requirements, then picks Growth at £3,900. She adds an independent photographer for half a day, a third-party cost of £900, photographing only pupils whose parental consent is documented. Total: £4,800, against £12,000 to £22,000 for the local quotes received with the same brief. The existing admissions portal is simply linked; Kolonell maintenance after the 3 included months is on quote. Go-live is planned for early July, away from open days.

FAQ

Is the admissions portal included in the tiers?

No, it stays a separate line on quote in all 3 tiers. The site links to your existing portal, which you keep.

Can we show fees including VAT?

Yes, provided the school supplies its own figures and states whether they include VAT at 20%. The provider writes no fee amounts.

What timeline should we plan?

Allow 3 to 4 weeks of production once content is ready, plus 2 to 4 weeks of internal collection. Aim to go live away from open days and the admissions peak.

How many fields should the enquiry form have?

Usually 5 to 6: parent name, email, phone, child's age, intended year of entry, message. Any document goes through the secure portal.

Which tier for a bilingual English and French school?

Premium at £6,900, the multilingual tier, languages set in the quote. Growth at £3,900 is enough for a single-language site.

Let's scope your project. Send your requirements and get a priced reply between £2,300 and £6,900, portal and MIS on separate lines, delivery in 3 to 4 weeks. See the international offer or request a free quote: detailed reply within 48 hours.

Tags:#website#international#private or international school#London
Share:

Mohamed Bah

Fondateur, Kolonell

Passionate about digital and entrepreneurship in Africa, Mohamed has been helping Sénégalese businesses with their digital transformation since 2020. Founder of Kolonell, he believes every SME deserves a professional and accessible online présence.